Find what you need faster with our web app! It won't take up space. 
Appointment
Review Board
Stories
Mood Music
Health Tracker
Workout
Healthy Eating
Meditation
Well-Being
Social Service
Health News
Podcast E-book

Does Cream Cheese Have Gluten? The Answer Might Surprise You!

Listen to this article

Cream cheese can be made from cow’s milk, or it can be made from goat’s milk. All cream cheese have some type of dairy in it, so it can really come down to the kind of cheese culture used to make the cream cheese. Read on to find out if your favorite brand of cream cheese does or does not contain gluten.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein generally found in grains like wheat, barley and rye. It’s what gives dough its elasticity and helps it rise.

You might not realize this, but gluten is found in a lot of things. It’s in oatmeal, beer, and even some medicines. There are many foods that you can’t eat if you’re gluten-free because so many common ingredients contain gluten.

What Is Cream Cheese Made From?

Cream cheese is made from milk, cream & other ingredients. The most common ingredient in cream cheese is skim milk. Some cream cheese brands contain whey, but it’s not always listed as an ingredient on the label.

Does Cream Cheese Have Gluten?

To produce cream cheese, all you need to do is add cream, milk or yogurt and some cultures. That’s why the answer to the question does cream cheese have gluten would be No, because it has none of the ingredients that contain gluten. However, it should not be mixed with pretzels, cheese straws, crackers or other wheat products, which may provoke its gluten content.

It also makes sense that so many people with celiac disease (an autoimmune disorder where the body reacts to eating gluten) can eat cream cheese without getting sick.

Further, though most cream cheeses do not actually contain gluten as part of their ingredients list. If you want to make sure your cream cheese is gluten-free, double check with the manufacturer before purchasing.

Nutritional Value of Cream Cheese.

Nutritional Value of Cream Cheese
Nutritional Value of Cream Cheese

Some Alternatives To Cream Cheese That Don’t Contain Gluten.

If you’re looking for a creamy, delicious spread, there are many other options available. Besides, If you prefer a cream cheese-like texture, then try substituting with any of the following: almond butter, coconut cream, olive oil or tahini.

If you like the flavor of cream cheese but want to avoid the dairy products in your diet, then try using tofu or nut butters as an alternative. You can make a tasty and rich, yet still low calorie spread by combining all three ingredients together.

Here is how:

Add two tablespoons of cashew butter and one tablespoon each of almond milk and water to an eight ounce package of soft silken tofu.

Mix well until smooth before stirring in half teaspoon salt and pepper (or other seasonings) to taste before refrigerating for at least one hour until ready to serve.

Does Cream Cheese Have Gluten
Cream Cheese

For people who are lactose intolerant or vegan, there are many alternative to cream cheese. These alternatives might have less calories and fat than cream cheese as well as more protein. Some alternatives that are similar to cream cheese in texture and taste include:

  • Neufchâtel (lactose free).
  • Feta (lactose free).
  • Parmesan or Grana Padano (vegan).
  • Mascarpone (lactose free).
  • Cottage Cheese (low fat, high protein).
  • Ricotta Cheese (lactose free).
  • Lite Sour Cream (lower fat).
  • Sour Cream (lower fat, but still tasty).
  • Greek Yogurt (full-fat and low-fat available).
  • Low Fat Buttermilk Substitute for baking with a sour tangy flavor.
  • Kefir (a fermented milk product with a tart, tangy flavor; not an allergy concern).

Frequently Asked Questions.

1. Is Amul processed cheese gluten free?

Generally , natural cheese of all varieties are gluten free. However, before buying cheese it is recommended to read the nutritional label to get the full information.

2. Does cream cheese contain salt?

In 100gm of cream cheese the amount of sodium is 321mg.

3. How many grams is 2 cups cream cheese?

2 cups of cream cheese gives approx 450gm.

4. How long is cream cheese good for after you open it?

After opening of cream cheese it can be kept upto 10 days.

5. Can You Get A Gluten Reaction From Eating Cream Cheese?

No, you will not get gluten reaction, as, full fat cream cheese are gluten free as long as it is not packed or mixed with other products like pretzel, crackers etc.

6. Can People Suffering from Celiac Disease Eat Cream Cheese?

Cream cheese is a dairy product that is often consumed by people with celiac disease, but the answer is not as simple as yes or no.

There are actually several different types of cream cheese that vary in their gluten content, so you will need to look for the information on the label before deciding if you want to consume it.

For example, Philadelphia style cream cheese has no gluten-containing ingredients and can be eaten by people who have celiac disease.

However, some other types of cream cheese might contain barley malt vinegar which contains gluten and would not be safe for people with celiac disease.

This information can be found on the product’s label so make sure to read it carefully before making your purchase.

7. What Foods Do You Need To Avoid If You’re Gluten Intolerant?

The foods that you need to avoid if you’re gluten intolerant are:

  • Bread.
  • Biscuits or crackers.
  • Cereals.
  • Candies.
  • Cakes and pies etc.

Bottom Line.

So cream cheese does not contain gluten. This is a good news for those who have celiac disease. However, you should always check labels to be sure, as some products may be processed in a facility that also processes wheat products. However one cup of cream cheese only contains about 3 grams of carbs due to the casein content and those carbs are primarily from the milk sugar lactose.

+1 Source

Freaktofit has strict sourcing guidelines and relies on peer-reviewed studies, educational research institutes, and medical organizations. We avoid using tertiary references. You can learn more about how we ensure our content is accurate and up-to-date by reading our editorial policy.

    1. Celiac Disease; https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/celiac-disease
ebook

WANT OUR e-BOOK?

SIGN UP TO GET FREE e-BOOK REGARDING HEALTH & FITNESS!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Expert Q&A
Ask a Question
Share Now:

Was this article helpful?

🤓

😕

The best of health & fitness platform

We do the research so you don't have to. Stay up-to-date with the latest health and fitness information.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

The best of health & fitness platform

We do the research so you don't have to. Stay up-to-date with the latest health and fitness information.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Evidence Based

This content is based on scientific research and written by experts.

Our team of licensed health professionals, nutritionists and fitness experts endeavor to be unbiased, objective, honest and to present each sides of the argument.

This article contains scientific references. The numbers in the parentheses (1,2,3) are clickable links to peer-reviewed scientific researches.